The Council

Whippingham Parish Council  

Whippingham Parish Council consists of 6 Councillors representing 2 wards. Whippingham North has 5 elected Councillors and Whippingham South has 1 elected Councillor. Elections are held every 4 years, the last in May 2027 and members serve for a four year term.  All Councillors have to formally accept the position of a Councillor at or prior to their first meeting.

The role of the Councillor:- Councillors have 4 main areas of responsibility
   To determine Council Policy and provide community leadership
   To monitor and review Council performance in delivering services
   To represent the Council externally and
   To act as advocates for their constituents

Councillors are not involved in the day top day running of the Parish Council business and whilst they do not receive any payments they are not volunteers, but holders of Public Office and have to agree to abide by a Code of Conduct. 

Council Staff


The Council employs one person for 24 hours per month. She is a qualified Clerk as well as being the Responsible Finance Officer.
The Clerk is also the Proper Officer of the Council 


Council Committee Structure 

The Council does not have a Committee Structure. It meets on the 2nd Thursday of the month.
The Council does not meet in August or January